Collins Continues To Coast

BRIGHT FUTURE: Collins victorious again

IRVINE super featherweight sensation Ryan Collins extended his record to 3-0 on Saturday night after stopping Ben Morrish in the second round on the Ricky Burns-Kevin Mitchell undercard at the SECC in Glasgow.

The 18-year-old continues to impress with the first TKO of his professional career and it was clear from the start that Collins was too much for the Plymouth man to handle.

Collins immediately piled the pressure on Morrish, forcing him on the back foot and against the ropes, unloading with a series of shots.

After dominating the opener, Collins was firmly in control as he continued to pound the 26-year-old, sending Morrish tumbling to the canvas after a series of right hands.

Morrish rose to his feet but it was evident that the damage had already been done as Collins stunned him with a barrage of punches on the ropes, leaving referee Richie Davies with no choice but to stop the fight.

Another solid win for Collins who believes he still has plenty to learn as he climbs through the ranks: “I feel that,that was my best performance yet.” He said.

“I prepared well for it, I’ve been getting great sparring and plenty of pad work which was key to my performance on the night.

“As an amateur I was boxing week in week out but as a pro you’re constantly training and ticking over, I’m still young and I’ve got lots to learn so just getting the experience to be on the big shows is a plus.

He added: “My support has been brilliant, I’ve started to get big crowds coming up to watch me now, I had about 90 there for me on Saturday and I appreciate it big time.

“I’m looking for at least two fights before Christmas, I’m only 18 so I’m in no rush, hopefully I’ll be boxing for a Scottish title by the time I’m 21 or 22, I should have had a few fights by then and gained enough experience.

When asked about sharing a bill with Ricky Burns and Scott Harrison, Collins said: “It’s some buzz just being on the same undercard as them, not many get the chance to box on the big shows but Ricky done the business on Saturday which keeps the big shows coming, so roll on!”

Leave a Reply

